What are Congressional Seats?

The United States of Congress is the federal government of the United States’ bicameral legislature. The United State’s legislative body is bicameral which means there are two houses that handle all the lawmaking within the country. These two houses are the House of Representatives and the Senate which are simply called as the Congress.

The Congress convenes in the Capitol building in Washington, D.C with the Senate in the north wing of the building while the House of Representatives meet in the south wing. Both Senate and House of Representatives members are directly elected although Senate vacancies can be filled by means of gubernatorial appointment. The United States Congress has 535 members with 100 Senators and 435 Representatives. The members of the Congress are usually affiliated to the Democratic or Republican Party and very rarely to independents or third party perhaps.

The Congressional Seats 

The Congressional Seats or Congressional Districts are representation of the House of Representatives. Under the process of United States congressional appointment, these seats are distributed among the country’s 50 states based on the most recent decennial census mandated by the Constitution. The apportionment or quantity and the boundaries of the districts are determined after every census but there are cases where several states have changed boundaries for more than once in every census. This means that in each census, a state may have districts added or removed from it.

Every state in the country is apportioned several numbers of seats corresponding to its aggregate populations. But it is guaranteed that every state to have at least one seat according to the Constitution. Ever since the congressional seats have been set to 435, there are states that have lost their districts. The congressional districts include non-voting delegations, currently six with four obsolete.  Most often, the district boundaries shift whenever redistricting happens which leads to a substantial change to the region and demographics that a district represents. There are also case where districts maintain the same boundaries but the district numbers are changed.

Members of the House of Representatives 

The House of Representatives’ members serve two-year terms in representing their constituents which is called the “district”. As stated before, the representative or the congressional seats for every district is determined by the United States’ census while every state has two senators, regardless of the size or population.

The average population in every congressional district is about 700, 000 with Montana being the state with the most people in a district since the 2000 census. On the other hand, Rhode Island is the state with the fewest people within an average district. The fact that the overall congressional delegation of the state is determined by its representation size, it makes it so that congressional appointment can significantly affect the process of the presidential election as well.

As for the house size of the House of Representatives, it refers to the complete number of congressional seats in which the United States proper land area has been divided. As of current, the number of voting representatives is 435 with added five delegates for Guam, District of Columbia, American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands and the Northern Mariana.

Leave a Reply