What are Congressional Seats?

The United States of Congress is the federal government of the United States’ bicameral legislature. The United State’s legislative body is bicameral which means there are two houses that handle all the lawmaking within the country. These two houses are the House of Representatives and the Senate which are simply called as the Congress.

The Congress convenes in the Capitol building in Washington, D.C with the Senate in the north wing of the building while the House of Representatives meet in the south wing. Both Senate and House of Representatives members are directly elected although Senate vacancies can be filled by means of gubernatorial appointment. The United States Congress has 535 members with 100 Senators and 435 Representatives. The members of the Congress are usually affiliated to the Democratic or Republican Party and very rarely to independents or third party perhaps.

The Congressional Seats  Continue reading “What are Congressional Seats?”

What is the United States Senate?

The Senate is one of the two houses of the Congress of the United States, the country’s legislature. The Senate was established in 1789 with its composition and powers created under Article One of the United States Constitution.

The composition of each state is composed of two senators representing each state and serves for the six-year term. The Senate building can be found on the Capitol’s north wing in Washington, D.C. while The House of Representatives convenes in the south wing. The United States Senate has over the years earned the nickname as “the house that never dies” because of the terms of almost `one-third of the members of the Senate expires in every two years.

For instance, at the date of this post, Hawaii has two Senators in the United States Senate, Brian Schatz and Mazie Hirono of whom took office in December 2012 and January 2013 respectively. The next election for their position is in 2016 and 2018 respectively.

Qualifications for Senators  Continue reading “What is the United States Senate?”

What is the House of Representatives?

The House of Representatives of the US is among the two houses of the US Congress alongside the Senate. The powers and the composition of the House were established in the Article one of the US states constitution.

Its major power is to pass and approve federal legislation which influences the whole country, though its bills should be reviewed and approved by the Senate as well and it will then be agreed by the president of the United States before the bills will become law, except when the Senate and the House re-pass the legislation in a 2/3 majority in every chamber. The chamber comes with a number of exclusive powers and those are the right to pledge revenue bills, the power to impeach officials as well as to elect the US President in case there’s no majority within the Electoral College.

Every state of United States is represented in the House of Representatives in proportion to the population of it as gauged in the census yet every state in entitled to even one representative. California is the state with the biggest number of population and as of now, it comes with 523 representatives. In the other end, there are 7 states with just one representative respectively. These states are Alaska, Montana, Delaware, North Dakota, Vermont, South Dakota, and Wyoming. Continue reading “What is the House of Representatives?”